We Talk with Nolly 


1. What does your business entail? 
I have a business called WeTalk. WeTalk is a digital platform that provides entrepreneurs, business owners and those aspiring to be to engage, network and possibly collaborate with each other in the long run. WeTalk is based on Twitter every Tuesday from 8pm to 9pm; we discuss various topics by hosting different and high profiled business owners from around the world. The WeTalk team believes that your network is your net worth, hence we created this platform. Let me mention this, WeTalk was founded by Hardlife Muhamba and myself, Hardlife is my business partner.

My typical day, I wake up go to school, hit the gym (it has been a while though but I’ll be back at the gym very soon ha-ha), come back home and catch up on business, send and reply to emails and study. In between all this, I listen to a lot of music and watch a lot series. If I don’t have school, I wake up and reply to emails and probably just spend the day on the net and twitter.

2. What are some of the things you’ve had to do to turn you passion/art into business? 

WeTalk is one the businesses that didn’t need a lot of capital to keep it moving, although along the line it did but all the capital was from my savings and allowance, and also from my business partner.

3. What inspired you to venture into this kind of business? 

I started WeTalk because I saw the need. WeTalk is meeting the need of uniting and building an entrepreneurial network. I found myself in a space where I did not know who to talk to about my business ideas and I needed to be surrounded by like-minded people, so that it would be beneficial for me to start this network that would not only help me but many people who are or once were in that position.

4. What are your goals? 

One of my business goals was to start a company, which I did but all the relevant information with regards to that will soon be available. However, my business goal is to grow an entrepreneurial network that can be of help to business owners but especially those who are aspiring business owners.

5. Who are some of the women you look up to? 

I look up to my Mother, Bonang Matheba and Mpumi Nobiva who recently
named me Nicki. I look up to these for different reasons and it is those
reasons that can sometimes get me through my worst times.



6.  What are some of the principles you believe should never be compromised in 
business and personal relationships? 

One of the things you should never compromise, whether in business or in
your personal life is your standards of integrity. These are the standards that guard and guide our behaviour. These days you find people who give up on the things they believe just to stay employed or fit into “squads”.

7. What are some of the challenges you have faced? 

Amongst the many, one of the greatest business challenges I have faced are cash flow and keeping up with the market but those are challenges that I can meet.

8. How do ensure that you stay motivated even when things go southward? 

Always remember why you started.” – I always try and remind myself why I started. I also remind myself of the stories and things that Mpumi has had to conquer to be where she is and that on its own, for me, is motivation enough to get me back in the race.

9. What advice can you give to a young aspiring Artrepreneur like yourself? 

Make the necessary noise about your business and believe in it but before that, research about what you want to do. Remember, there is no rush, take your own time. Research about it, document it and act on your ideas.

10. What’s your favourite quote and why do you relate to it? 

I don’t know if it identifiable as a quote but I relate a lot to the saying “We are blessed to become a blessing.” I relate to it because I strongly believe that we are in the positions we are in to inspire and help other people to be even greater.

11. What’s your favourite book and why? 

I am reading a book by Keith Ferrazzi titled Never Eat Alone which is by far the best book I have read and is a book that should be read by every business owner and entrepreneur. Never Eat Alone is a book that emphasises that importance of networking to build yourself and your business, although they refrained from using the word “network” because of the perception the
book has for most people.

Honestly, I did not care about girl love until I got to be surrounded by female
entrepreneurs and I realized how much necessary girl love is. It is very necessary that girls stop this hate they have on each other and to start to realize the power that girl love. As girls, we love being in competition with each other when we should be empowering each other. With the help of businesses like Re Basadi, we are hoping a community of girl love will be built.

Leave a Reply

